mobile app
Visit Mobile Download App +$50 bonus 18+ T&C apply | | Play Responsibly
Nigeria Accepts users from Nigeria
mobile app
Rating 4.7 from 22 reviews
Design & UI80%
Mobile Version90%
Android App70%
IOS App72%
Payment Methods77%

Six Nations Rugby Union Betting 2020

The annual peak of national excitement for rugby union returns at the start of February as the 119th edition of the Northern Hemisphere Championship continues, or to give it its more well-known title, the Six Nations.

England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, France and Italy will lock horns once again over five weeks to decide who is the greatest side North of the equator and there will be plenty of thrills and spills along the way.

Seen as there have been four different names on the trophy in the last four years, it is fair to say that the competition has become a little unpredictable. Wales were last year’s champions, completing the Grand Slam along the way, but it is actually England who go into this year’s event as favourites.

It seems most bookies expect the English to be battling it out with France for the title followed not too far behind by Ireland and Wales and then Scotland and Italy a country mile behind the leading four teams.

It may well have been England’s thoroughly impressive win over New Zealand at Twickenham in December that gave the bookies confidence in Stuart Lancaster’s team as although they finished second last year in the tournament, all but one of their wins were by very narrow margins and they weren’t overly convincing.

With the bookies fancying England or France though it may well be worth betting on the English to win the Triple Crown (beating Ireland, Wales and Scotland) which is available at around 7/2.

Six Nations Rugby Union Betting 2018

Six Nations Rugby Union History

The Six Nations is an annual rugby union international tournament played between England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, France and Italy. Originally known as the Home Nations Championship it became the Five Nations in 1940 then the Six Nations in 2000 when Italy were added to the competition.

The Six Nations Tournament 2018 kicks off on February 2nd, visit here soon to see the best odds and betting favourites.

England are currently the most successful nation having won the event 25 times in one format or another, closely followed by Wales with 24 then it is France on 17, Scotland 14 and Ireland 11. Italy have yet to win.

If we were to count only Six Nations Championship victories then it is the French who top the table with five victories, then England with three, Wales with two and Ireland with one. Scotland and Italy remain trophyless since the inception of the Six Nations format.

Six Nations Rugby Union History

Six Nations Rugby Union Betting options

Rugby Union Betting has changed dramatically in recent times and punters are no longer limited to simple win only bets. Nowadays you can place a wager on :

  • First scoring play
  • Number of points scored by team A or B
  • Total tries
  • Total match points
  • Winning margin
  • Half time/full time position

And lots more. Check out a few Sports Betting sites to see what is available. Live betting is a great innovation that enables you to jump into a game at any point and place your bet. This keeps your interest going right until the end. Spread betting is also available and should be studied carefully because it’s not for the faint-hearted! There are lots of free bets on offer to new customers and it’s worth checking out the sites that guide you to the best deals and the right place for you. There’s also loads of info including gossip, inside stories, statistics and tips to help you on your way. All the info you need can be found here at Freebettingonline.

Six Nations Rugby Union Betting options

More about the Six Nations Tournament

The Six Nations is an international rugby union tournament whose origins can be traced back to 1871 as a four-nation event comprising matches between England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland. France joined the fray in 1910 and the event had become the Five Nations. Italy was invited in 2000 and the Six Nations era had begun.

Played annually, the format of the Championship is simple; each team plays every other team once, with home field advantage alternating from one year to the next. Two points are awarded for a win, one for a draw and none for a loss. If a team gains victory in each of its matches this is a "Grand Slam". Back to back "Grand Slams" have occurred on five occasions but only twice in recent times: England in 1991/1992 and by France in 1997/1998.

Victory by any Home Nation over all three of the others is awarded the "Triple Crown". England achieved four consecutive Triple Crowns in 1995-1998 inclusive and hold the record for the number won with 23. Also contested within the tournament is the Calcutta Cup contested between England and Scotland. Since 1988, the Millennium Trophy has been awarded to the winner of the game between England and Ireland. The Guiseppe Garibaldi Trophy is bestowed upon the winner of the France v. Italy match.

Top 5 Nigerian Betting Sites
Sign-up Offer
100% Up To ₦50,000
Sign-up Offer
Exclusive 100% up to €130 bonus
Sign-up Offer
50% Bonus Matching your First Stake
Sign-up Offer
Bonus from ₦100 on deposit
Sign-up Offer
There is no welcome bonus.